Recipes · Things That Went Wrong

Grimly Undercooked Irish Soda Bread

I woke up 2 and a half hours after my alarm, as expected.

Behold my unholy creation.

Irish Soda Bread
Didn’t know bread even COULD be saggy.

Recipe was the standard, readily-searchable BBC affair because I thought it best to err on the side of caution. Except I didn’t have any white flour so used all wholemeal. And only had plain wholemeal flour, so I added 18g baking powder too. But apart from that, I followed the recipe EXACTLY. Well, I also added slightly too much flour, and there wasn’t enough buttermilk. And I added more salt. But apart from deviating from the recipe in almost every way, I followed it exactly. Yes.

One day I will have an oven that heats food from multiple angles, instead of just baking things rock hard on the bottom and leaving the centre raw. It was like trying to cut a half-fired brick. Gave it an extra 20 minutes and it was even more solid on the outside, but once the knife finally wedged itself past the crust, the inside seems to have cooked.

So if I look at it from the perspective of having created something to hold open my door, today went great!

 

Leave a Reply

